Photo of Maricopa students

HOOP of Learning

The Maricopa Hoop of Learning is an early high school-to-college bridge program administered by the Maricopa County Community College District (MCCCD).  From the beginning, the program continues to expand its area of service and now is present in all 10 Maricopa Community Colleges. The Hoop of Learning Program is intended to reduce or minimize the economic and cultural barriers that American Indians may face, while helping high school students transition into college.  

The mission of the Maricopa Hoop of Learning Program is to encourage, enable, and create the conditions that empower American Indian students to complete high school and transition successfully to higher education.

Students who are participants in Hoop of Learning begin taking courses at a Maricopa Community College while still attending high school and can earn college credit.  Eligible students can participate in this program while receiving scholarships that can pay for tuition, fees, and books.  Academic as well as cultural activities are incorporated into the program and program participants are required to attend these events.

 

Program Eligibility Requirements:
  1. 9 – 12th grade high school students. Students may apply and participate in this program year round, any time after their first semester as a freshman.
  2. Registered member of a state or federally recognized tribal nation 
  3. 2.0 minimum high school grade point average (GPA)

**Please click on the campus you’re considering for additional program and contact information.

 

Contact Your Campus Program        
Chandler-Gilbert Community College
Carriann Dehiya
(480) 732 – 7255       
carriann.dehiya@cgcmail.maricopa.edu
Paradise Valley Community College
Courtney Billy
(602) 787 – 6695
courtney.billy@paradisevalley.edu
Estrella Mountain Community College
Jennifer Armor
(623) 935 – 8832
jennifer.armor@estrellamountain.edu
Phoenix College
Seana Mitchell               
(602) 285 - 7851            
yvonne.tapia@phoenixcollege.edu
GateWay Community College
Iris Calderon
(602) 286-8187
iris.calderon@gatewaycc.edu
Scottsdale Community College
Wil Begay
(480) 423 – 6531           
wil.begay@scottsdalecc.edu 
Glendale Community College
Isabel Conchos
(623) 845-3078
isabel.conchos@gccaz.edu
South Mountain Community College
Danielle Tapaha
(602) 243-8340
danielle.tapaha@southmountaincc.edu
Mesa Community College
Angela Chavez
(480) 461-7927
angela.chavez@mesacc.edu